top of page

Prom 2k17

Prom finally happened! It was amazing! But Prom didn't just happen on Saturday! Preparing for Prom started on Friday after school! Right after I arrived home, my hostmom drove me to get my nails done. I got a pedicure too and it was really good! My feet felt amazing! Until this point I wasn't nervous or extremely excited, but slowly this prom feeling and excitement got me! With my nice nails, we then went to the very last prom practice! It felt very good and looked like everything was working out fine! Falling asleep in the evening was hard! I fell asleep at around 12 and woke up at 7. Way too early and on a normal Saturday that would never have happened. The whole morning and noon we ran around like crazy. First at 11 we went to shoppers drug mart. They offered to do make up free for everyone participating in prom! For me a person who usually never wears make-up, I was put on a lot! But it turned out good and I was told by a lot of people that it looked amazing. After make-up was done, we rushed to the hairdresser. What they did with my hair was amazing. I picked a waterfall braid from Pinterest before we went there and it turned out perfect! Especially the back looked gorgeous. At the hairdresser I finally became really nervous and excited. Just a couple more hours and I'll be walking through the emera centre filled with people. But before, we went to anther host family living in George's river to take pictures. They turned out amazing and it was a breathtaking location. Then we finally drove to the emera centre. We arrived a bit too early, before all the other students arrived, but that was alright. We got to see the line-up before the closed doors and that more than 1 hour before the doors were going to open for parents and people with tickets! After we finally found the entrance , the waiting started. For about the whole time I got more and more excited. And nervous! What if I fall over my dress, what if my make-up looks bad, what if...? I saw how the emera centre slowly but steady filled up with people until there were no seats left and the people started standing around! And the grand march finally started! The flurry of camera flashes was overwhelming! Everybody was looking at our beautiful and stunning dresses and the boys who really tidied up well. It didn't feel like 20 minutes at all. We walked and walked and looked at all those people watching us. It was incredible. I can't describe it. After the grand march, I had a break. The grad march came next and then the fun dance! It was hilarious! Everybody had so much fun watching them and it was well performed. After that I finally went back on. The couples dance with the dates happened. Even if both of us couldn't really dance, we did good! (to the surprise of both of us ;) ) Then there was the family dance. I went on the floor dancing with my amazing hostmom and we had a ton of fun dancing! She helped me a lot to not look funny. Thank you chris! After that prom was officially over. Everybody came down on the floor to take pictures and so did I. I ran around trying to find all the people I wanted pictures with and I think I found a lot! It was a perfect night. Afterwards there was offered food and drinks in the rooms upstairs. Next to some good music and a beautiful room, two professional photographers took really great and funny pictures of everybody. We stayed there a little bit, but eventually went home to dress up for the afterparty! Arriving there at 10-10.30 was perfect timing! Everybody slowly arrived at that time and I immediately found some of my friends! It was a very fun night and we arrived home at about 3 in the morning. All in all I am just happy I was able to participate in this amazing and 100% Canadian event. Thanks to everybody who made it possible for me to go and have such an amazing time with my friends! It was incredible and I will never forget it!

Link to Gallery with all the Prom Pictures: ​

 
 


bottom of page